KCHS Events for Summer 2017

KCHS Calendar Summer 2017

Sunday June 11: The following museums open:

  • Bammert Blacksmith Shop opens, M-26 Phoenix, 8 AM–6 PM daily
  • Phoenix Church of the Assumption opens, U.S. 41 Phoenix, 8 AM–6 PM daily
  • Eagle Harbor Lighthouse Complex opens, including the Eagle Harbor Lighthouse, Commercial Fishing Museum, Maritime Museum, and the Keweenaw History Museum; Hours for June, Sept., and October are 12-5 PM with docents present. July and August hours are 10 AM-5 PM , Mon-Sat and Noon-5 on Sunday, with docents present. Adult admission $5, children   and KCHS members free
  • Life-Saving Museum at Eagle Harbor – from 9 AM to 6 PM daily.
  • Rathbone Schoolhouse opens, Eagle Harbor, 10 AM–5 PM, daily
  • Central Mine Visitor Center, House #61 and House #25 open, 9 AM–5 PM daily, Docents present when available

Wednesday June 14: – Eagle River Museum opens, Eagle River Community Center, open Wed./Fri./Sat. 12–4 PM, Docents present
Saturday, June 17– School at Gay museum opens, Gay, Michigan, regular hours -Wed. and Sat. 12–3 PM, docents present
Wednesday, June 28 & Thursday, June 29, Adventures in History, A Woven Rag Rug Workshop for Beginners, Wed. & Thurs,
Historic Gay School Museum, Gay Mich., Fee: $12.00($10 KCHS members)
See the Adventures in History page for details.
Wednesday June 28:- Adventures in History: She’s Not As Shiny As She Used To Be: The Shipwreck Story of the City of Bangor, Wednesday, June 28, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM, Copper Harbor Community Building, Fee: $6.00 ($5 KCHS members)
See the Adventures in History page for details.
Tuesday, July 4:- School at Gay Museum Special Open House, Gay Michigan, open. 12–3 PM, docents present
Tuesday July 11,- Adventures in History, Map Your History with the Keweenaw Time Traveler, Tuesday, July 11, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Eagle Harbor Community Building, Fee: $6.00 ($5 KCHS members)
See the Adventures in History page for details.
Sunday July 23– Blessing of the Animals, Phoenix Church, 1:30–3:30 PM
Tuesday, July 25,- Adventures in History, I worked underground in a Michigan Copper Mine, Tuesday, July 25, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM, Eagle Harbor Community Building, Fee: $6.00 ($5 KCHS members)
See the Adventures in History page for details.
Sunday July 30– 110th Annual Central Church Reunion and Cornish Tea, Central Mine; church services at 9AM & 11 AM, Cornish Tea at Visitor’s Center 10 AM–1 PM
Tuesday, August 8– Adventures in History, Missing In The Copper Country, Tuesday Aug 8, 7:00 PM  – 9:00 PM, Eagle Harbor Community Building, Fee: $6.00 ($5 KCHS members)
See the Adventures in History page for details.
Friday, August 11– Jazz Central, jazz concert at Central Mine, upper parking lot, 6-10 PM
Click here for a printable poster  with the details.
Saturday-Sunday August 12-13– Eagle Harbor Art Fair, Saturday 10 AM-5 PM, Sunday 12-4 PM
Wednesday August 17– Volunteer Appreciation Party, at the Eagle River Museum,  7–9 PM
Saturday August 19- Adventures in History, Music of Keweenaw’s Historic Past, Saturday, August 19, 2:00-4:00 PM, Eagle River Museum, Fee: $6.00 ($5 KCHS members)
See the Adventures in History page for details.
Sunday August 20– Phoenix Church Open House, 1-4 PM
Monday, September 4: School at Gay Museum Special Open House, Gay Michigan, open. 12–3 PM, docents present
Sunday September 10– Annual Memorial Mass, Phoenix Church, 1:30 PM
Wednesday Sept. 13- Adventures in History, Neil Woodward in Concert, Wednesday, Evening, September 16, 7:00 PM – 9:00: PM, Copper Harbor Community Building , Copper Harbor ,FREE: Donations Appreciated
See the Adventures in History page for details.
Sunday September 17– KCHS Annual Dinner, Keweenaw Mountain LOdge, Sept. 17. 5 – 8 PM
Saturday September 23-Adventures in History, Cider Making Workshop at Central, Saturday, Sept 24, 10:00 AM – 3:00 PM
U.S 41 at Central Road, Fee: $6.00 ($5 KCHS members), (Hot pasty, $6.00 extra – please reserve the pasty when pre-registering)
See the Adventures in History page for details.
Sunday October 8– All Museums Closed for the Season

Click here to see a PDF of the Summer 2017 Event Summary that you may wish to print.