Summary of KCHS Events for Summer 2017

KCHS Calendar Summer 2017

Sunday June 11: The following museums open:

  • Bammert Blacksmith Shop opens, M-26 Phoenix, 8 AM–6 PM daily
  • Phoenix Church of the Assumption opens, U.S. 41 Phoenix, 8 AM–6 PM daily
  • Eagle Harbor Lighthouse Complex opens, including the Eagle Harbor Lighthouse, Commercial Fishing Museum, Maritime Museum, and the Keweenaw History Museum; Hours for June, Sept., and October are 12-5 PM with docents present. July and August hours are 10 AM-5 PM , Mon-Sat and Noon-5 on Sunday, with docents present. Adult admission $5, children   and KCHS members free
  • Life-Saving Museum at Eagle Harbor – from 9 AM to 6 PM daily.
  • Rathbone Schoolhouse opens, Eagle Harbor, 10 AM–5 PM, daily
  • Central Mine Visitor Center, House #61 and House #25 open, 9 AM–5 PM daily, Docents present when available

Wednesday June 14: – Eagle River Museum opens, Eagle River Community Center, open Wed./Fri./Sat. 12–4 PM, Docents present
Saturday, June 17– School at Gay museum opens, Gay, Michigan, regular hours -Wed. and Sat. 12–3 PM, docents present
Wednesday, June 28 & Thursday, June 29, Adventures in History, A Woven Rag Rug Workshop for Beginners
Wednesday June 28:- Adventures in History: She’s Not As Shiny As She Used To Be: The Shipwreck Story of the City of Bangor
Tuesday, July 4:- School at Gay Museum Special Open House, Gay Michigan, open. 12–3 PM, docents present
Tuesday July 11,- Adventures in History, Map Your History with the Keweenaw Time Traveler
Sunday July 23– Blessing of the Animals, Phoenix Church, 1:30–3:30 PM
Tuesday, July 25,- Adventures in History, I worked underground in a Michigan Copper Mine
Sunday July 30– 110th Annual Central Church Reunion and Cornish Tea, Central Mine; church services at 9AM & 11 AM, Cornish Tea at Visitor’s Center 10 AM–1 PM
Tuesday, August 8– Adventures in History, Missing In The Copper Country
Friday, August 11– Jazz Central, jazz concert at Central Mine, upper parking lot, 6-10 PM
Saturday-Sunday August 12-13– Eagle Harbor Art Fair, Saturday 10 AM-5 PM, Sunday 12-4 PM
Wednesday August 17– Volunteer Appreciation Party, at a KCHS Site to be announced, 7–9 PM
Saturday August 19- Adventures in History, Music of Keweenaw’s Historic Past
Sunday August 20– Phoenix Church Open House, 1-4 PM
Monday, September 4: School at Gay Museum Special Open House, Gay Michigan, open. 12–3 PM, docents present
Sunday September 10– Annual Memorial Mass, Phoenix Church, 1:30 PM
Wednesday Sept. 13- Adventures in History, Neil Woodward in Concert
Sunday September 17– KCHS Annual Dinner
Saturday September 23-Adventures in History, Cider Making Workshop at Central
Sunday October 8– All Museums Closed for the Season

Click here to see a PDF of the Summer 2017 Event Summary that you may wish to print.