Eagle Harbor Lighthouse in a storm

The Eagle Harbor Lighthouse Complex contains four different museums.

Neil Woodward

A proud Keweenaw
National Historical
Park Heritage Site

Announcements: All of the Keweenaw County Historical Museums are now closed for the season. We look forward to seeing you when most of our museums reopen on June 11, 2017. We will update the the museum calender with opening dates for specific museums once we have finalized all of our summer events and dates.
3-27-2017- We still have a few openings for summer and fall 2017 at the Rental Cottage which is The Assistant Light Keepers Cottage. It's located near the Eagle Harbor Lighthouse on the shore of Lake Superior. See the Rental Cottage tab above for details and contact information.
Facebook: 'Like' us on Facebook for another way to follow KCHS events, see additional historic photos, etc. find us on facebook


About the Keweenaw County Historical Society

This web site offers a range of pages about the Society and it's work:


About the Keweenaw County Historical Society

The Keweenaw County Historical Society, a not-for-profit 501(c)(3)* organization, was established in 1981 to preserve and share the history of the county. It has over 1,200 members, many of whom are life members. It operates a number of museums that are open to the public in the summer, publishes a quarterly newsletter and several booklets, runs various programs for adults and children in the summer, maintains an archive of relevant documents, and actively maintains various historical properties.

The members of the Society have profound respect for those who went before, those who created the history we study and preserve. And we have a profound responsibility to those who will come after, to ensure that the history is still there. We are the connecting link, and it is important that we do our job well. Every membership and every gift is vital - we could not continue the Society's important and exciting work without such support.

* Press here to see a copy of the latest IRS Form 990-EZ which defines our 501(c)(3) status.

Officers and Trustees of the Keweenaw County Historical Society

President Lawrence J. Molloy
Vice President Virginia Schubert
Secretary Anne Boggio
Treasurer Nancy Molloy

Frank S. Carlton, Deputy Treasurer
Michael Cooper
Anita Campbell
Judy Davis
Elaine Hall, Deputy Treasurer
Karen Hintz
Paul R. Freshwater
Ron Lahti
John (Jack) B. Marta
Richard Mintken
Mark F. Rowe
Gerald Vairus

Honorary Trustees

Virginia Petermann Jamison
Richard Dana
Peter Van Pelt
Eliose D. Liddicoat
Clarence J. Monette (deceased)
David H. Thomas


The Lauri W. Leskinen Memorial Award

House 25

The Lauri Leskinen Award is
given for outstanding service
to the Society.

Each year the KCHS presents the Lauri W. Leskinen Memorial Award, named for the founder and first president of the Society, to someone who has made noteworthy contributions to the preservation and sharing of the history of Keweenaw County. The most recent recipient was Virginia P. Jamison who recieved the Laurie Leskin Award for 2015 at the Annual Dinner on 9-20-2015.